Auto, Auto Shows, Bloggers, Cars/Convertibles, Entertainment, Humour, Jeep, Mothers, Porsche, Road Trips, Seasonal, Television, Travel News, Women

My Favourite Place to Read

Books-car

Books-car (Photo credit: tölvakonu)

When you have children, upon birth, many instant qualifications come with this new responsibility. Children do not come with manuals, but they do inspire instant personal qualifications in hair cutting, singing, audiobook practice, Masterchef, confrontation, nursing, counseling, psychiatry, teaching,  project planning, event organizing, washing and cleaning (which I consider an art never mastered) and many more.

But the one new job that comes with being a parent is your “Taxi License”. Oh how much money the meter would show and my pockets would jingle for every minute I have waited in my jeep for a child to….finish.

A very dear friend of mine who has always been a reader, and incidentally her maiden name is “Reid”, offered the best solution to the “Parental Taxi Line” . She has always designated one book as “The Car Book”. This chosen book can only ever be read your car. I thought this was ingenious as many weeks as a parent radically reduces the personal reading time on a day-to-day basis.

So I embraced my good friends recommendation and I have had “The Car Book” ever since. While sitting still in a parking lot, I have travelled many miles in many books by just reading in my jeep. It has now become my favourite place to read, get away and seek some peace and quiet. Even though one child is now driving, I still take my taxi, go and park somewhere and enter another world from the comfort of my jeep. Try it. It’s free. You may find this is a place to savour and call your own. And don’t forget the thermos and this reading tip of the day!

WARNING: It is highly recommended you DO NOT Read & Drive! Texting is being banned and so do not do this. Road signs are fine, but NOTHING else. Ok?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 925 other followers

The Jeep Wave

Thanks to Alex for being my model

All the glitters IS gold

Gosh I hope Robert drives a jeep?

Categories

Twitter Racing Fridays - Join us. May 18th Winner @ziggy6897 with his Taxi from the 5th Element

