Auto, Cars/Convertibles, Driving Events, Entertainment, Humour, Mothers, Women

What’s in a Name? Tilden Rent-a-Car

The Argument Continues

My decision at choosing toplessdriver.com is also a matter of personal history. When I was little a company called “Tilden Rent-a-Car” ran a campaign for renting convertibles. The advertisement read “take it all off – TILDEN’S DONE IT”. My father gave me this badge. I still have the bright neon yellow badge (see below) with these words printed on it. As a child, I thought this was cheeky and daring. I still think it is cheeky and daring. I love this badge.

What does it say about someone who has kept this badge for all these years. National Car Rental bought  Tilden Rent-a-Car in 1996. I wonder how much I could get on Ebay for this badge? Perhaps National Car Rental has a museum? But in wondering, I realise that no one would pay what I would pay. Therefore it needs to stay in the “tickle” trunk and with toplessdrivers collection. I will wear this badge again this year on Go Topless Day on May 19th and give it an airing for the first time in many years if and only if you think I should keep my blog name. Let’s face it. This was a national company that used a cheeky and daring marketing campaign to convince us to rent a convertible! So, can I keep toplessdrivers.com as my blog name? Can I keep the name now?

Return to Home Page to Cast your Vote.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “What’s in a Name? Tilden Rent-a-Car

  1. OK, I’m off the fence — KEEP THE NAME!

    Posted by Indigo Spider | January 25, 2012, 5:31 pm
    • I know! I am beginning to fall off the fence too. On a personal level, it is my destiny. On a business level, I will have to wait and see who wants to come out and play topless with me – giggle, giggle! Thanks for you input. It really does mean a lot.

      Posted by toplessdriver | January 25, 2012, 6:21 pm
      • Sometimes you have to follow destiny first, and business will follow. That’s what I’m discovering with my own blog. It started out solely for my personal output but slowly is morphing into much more than i ever expected. It takes time but destiny sometimes knows best 🙂

        Posted by Indigo Spider | January 25, 2012, 7:02 pm
      • You are good for my soul today which has been bruised lately. Thank you Indigo Spider.

        Posted by toplessdriver | January 25, 2012, 7:23 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: What’s in a Name? Who Else is Topless? « toplessdrivers - January 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 925 other followers

The Jeep Wave

Thanks to Alex for being my model

All the glitters IS gold

Gosh I hope Robert drives a jeep?

Categories

Twitter Racing Fridays - Join us. May 18th Winner @ziggy6897 with his Taxi from the 5th Element

