Auto, Cars/Convertibles, Drivers & their Rides, Entertainment, Humour, Mothers, Women

What’s in a Name?

It has been brought to my attention that the name “toplessdrivers” may be a problem. A friend, who works for the government, said she can no longer follow this blog as the word “topless” is too “cheeky” for browsing in the workplace. Therefore, is the word “topless” a restricted web browsing word in the workplace?

I spent the summer testing the word “topless” with my friends on Facebook When I started driving the jeep without the top on, I would post my adventures, problems and dilemmas for advice and solutions. These were originally called “The Jeep Episodes”. I started using the word “topless” when it was a day without the top on the vehicle and last summer brought me a lot of days driving topless. The word was memorable and cheeky. I like memorable and cheeky. It inspired curiosity and had a sense of daring.

It is true to say that this blog is all about the lifestyle that goes with driving – particularly driving a convertible. But I don’t drive a convertible. I drive a jeep and I would not describe my jeep as a convertible. I like the cheekiness of the word “topless”. I found it hard to describe driving with the roof off the jeep in any other way. The jeep is not a convertible – so top down just didn’t cut it. The jeep really is topless in the summer. If it rains – I get wet.

To be honest, it took me a few months to pluck up the courage to put the word “topless” into a search engine in fear that my eyes would burn out of my skull from too much areola exposure. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it wasn’t as explicit as I had anticipated. Plus the name of this blog is “toplessdrivers” and not just the word “topless”. Surely entering the name “toplessdrivers” is safe in the workplace? But if the name “toplessdrivers” is affecting followers in the workplace, should I change the blog name? The word “topless” is not always about going without a shirt. What do you think?

Place your vote on the home page.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. I am torn on this, I admit. One part of me says, no, don’t change it since you’ve built a following. There is also the rebel in me that wants to flip the bird to worrying about ‘work censorship’. If they want to read it they’ll have to do it on their mobile devices or at home.

    Then the realistic side knows how the blocking works and it doesn’t matter that “toplessdrivers” is the full name, those things just yank “topless” and block it. So, the realistic side says you should change it so you can reach your audience anywhere.

    I know I’m no help! But, for what it’s worth, I do like “The Jeep Episodes” if you do decide to change it. Or, you could make it “Jeep Chronicles”. If you have a large following, I say don’t change it. If not, now is the time to do it. How’s that for indecision 🙂

    Posted by Indigo Spider | January 24, 2012, 10:03 pm
    • Hello Indigo Spider. You have hit the nail on the head. It clearly is a dilemma out for public vote. To add to the debate, I think there may be a lot of “lookers” that perhaps do not fit my target audience. I have only had about 10 inappropriate followers who very nicely have been offering all kinds of services, but we have a blocking button for them. I put the question to my Twitter fans and within 30 seconds I received a reply from Jeep UK saying “NO” Do not change the name. I will run the question this week and make a decision on the weekend. The other name I have been hovering over is “Convertible Conversations.com. Interestingly, this name idea came from the same friend that works for the government. Watch this space. Love your blog by the way. Very cool name. Cheers and thanks so much for your feedback.

      Posted by toplessdriver | January 25, 2012, 8:24 am
  2. I vote to keep ToplessDriver! 🙂

    Posted by Vikki | January 24, 2012, 9:41 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: MAXIM – Topless Thrills April 2012 « toplessdrivers - April 25, 2012

  2. Pingback: What’s in a Name? Who Else is Topless? « toplessdrivers - January 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

Toplessdriver Tweets!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 925 other followers

The Jeep Wave

Thanks to Alex for being my model

All the glitters IS gold

Gosh I hope Robert drives a jeep?

Categories

Twitter Racing Fridays - Join us. May 18th Winner @ziggy6897 with his Taxi from the 5th Element

