Driving Playlist, Seasonal

Merry Christmas from toplessdriver

A Christmas tree inside a home.

To all my Followers I say “Merry Christmas“. I know that the words “Merry Christmas” is under debate and that we need to respect all faiths during the holiday season. I do. But this year, I feel very Christmassy. Perhaps it is because of writing this blog and looking for all the fun things that belong to the festive season. But today I choose to say “Merry Christmas”. It is what I said growing up and as Christmas is riddled with traditions, this is mine. I hope that my friends that celebrate other faiths greet me with their traditional greetings too. I welcome it and embrace you for it.

My gift to you all is “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas“. Based on what I have written, you may have thought I would choose Judy Garland singing “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”. A classic that must be played, but it just didn’t suit how I feel this year. Slightly too somber for my Christmas spirit.

Surprisingly, I had never heard the 1953 chart topper “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas“, until a recent road trip. (I will have words with my mother about my deprived childhood). Next to Santa Baby, the rhyming is classic. The 1950’s knew how to rhyme. Can’t get this song out of my head this year. Download the song, get in your topless vehicle, crank up the volume and enjoy this cheery tune.

(Apologies to those for playing it again – I just can’t help myself).

With arms wide open…..Merry Christmas everyone

Gayla Peevey was a regional child star of the Oklahoma City area. When released nationally by Columbia Records, the song shot to the top of the charts and the city zoo acquired a baby hippo named Matilda.

A popular legend holds that this 1953 hit had been recorded as a fund-raiser to bring the city zoo a hippo; but in a 2007 radio interview with Detroit-based WNIC radio station, Peevey clarified that the song was not originally recorded as a fundraiser. Instead, a local promoter picked up on the popularity of the song and Peevey’s local roots, and launched a campaign to present her with an actual hippopotamus on Christmas.

The campaign succeeded, and she was presented with an actual hippopotamus, which she donated to the city zoo. The hippopotamus lived for nearly 50 years.[9]

I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 925 other followers

The Jeep Wave

Thanks to Alex for being my model

All the glitters IS gold

Gosh I hope Robert drives a jeep?

Categories

Twitter Racing Fridays - Join us. May 18th Winner @ziggy6897 with his Taxi from the 5th Element

